4 months!!

What up. I’ve been out four months! Pretty crazy huh? The time has flown by, and I’m so excited for what I have yet to experience!

Starting off this week we had interviews with our mission president. It’s pretty cool to get to talk to him one on one like that. He has such great council for us missionaries. He is a super smart man that is very accomplished and knowledgable about the gospel and life. Reminds me a lot of my dad. Oh, today I got an early birthday card (!!!) from president and sister huntsman! They were very proud of me and can’t wait to see what I’ll accomplish. I know I was put in this mission because of the mission president here. I’ve already learned so much. After interviews we got some great insights from our assistants to the president and our zone leaders. We practiced teaching simple and planning effectively. Planning is something I really need to work on, as well as goal setting. I’m so glad that I’ve been blessed with great leaders that can help me out.

Pretty cool experience after interviews: We planned to go street contacting from our place all the way to Walmart, which is on the other side of our area. It took us about two hours to get all the way down there, and then we realized we weren’t going to get back in time to get a ride to our dinner. We were thinking of what to do when I saw the bus driving by. We hopped on the next bus heading back to our place. At one of the stops, a man came and sat by us. Turns out it was James, a less active man who just moved into the ward. I love James so much, he is recovering from being homeless and is going through some terrible health problems. We told him last week we were going to come by and give him a blessing, but got caught up in the work and forgot. James asked us when we were going to come by, and I instantly remembered that we had planned to go over there. We quickly rescheduled for the next evening and went on our ways. I’m not the biggest believer in miracles, even though I’m a missionary. I’m quick to call things coincidences or say that things happen by chance. I know we were supposed to be on that bus at that time. I know that we were supposed to meet James and talk with him. This experience has strengthened my testimony about miracles, and I’ve been seeing a lot more know that I’ve realized that. Not the kind of miracles that some people think of, like healing the blind and having the lame walk, but the small and simple miracles that happen in our lives each and every day.

Elder Severe and I went on an exchange on Wednesday, and he got to come to our lesson with Floyd! Lessons with Floyd are really the highlight of my week. I love seeing him and watching him progress in the gospel. Seeing any investigator take the small steps toward baptism are what all missionaries pray for everyday, and it’s amazing to see Floyd make them right in front of me. Anyways Floyd made it to church for the first time this last week! He said he had some questions after church that he wanted to talk about after church. He really loved sacrament meeting and Sunday school. It was fast Sunday, and he loved watching everyone get up and bear their testimonies. He said he would imagine each person as himself and ask himself, “Could I do that?” He really like Gospel Principles, where we teach very simply and open everything up yo discussion. But he had a problem with priesthood. He said he didn’t feel very comfortable or welcomed. He said it almost felt like he shouldn’t have been there. We calmed him nerves and told him everyone’s first time is different. Floyd said he would only agree to be baptized if he feels comfortable in the church. He agrees with the doctrine and everything, and he said if it was just for a sign of faith he would go and get baptized right away! But he says if he is going to convert to this church he needs to feel comfortable there, that’s the most important thing for him. We assured him that as he continued to go and prayed for strength and a personal testimony of the church. He would feel more comfortable. Elder Severe promised him that if he didn’t feel welcomed after three times of coming that he would never have to come again. This was a very bold promise! But I know that with enough faith, anything is possible.

Other than that, this week was pretty regular. Some good contacts with potential investigators and referrals, and some bomb meals at some sick members’ homes! Thank you everyone for the holiday wishes! I love you all! Keep it real! The church is TRUE!!

-Elder Evans

fort elders

image

Leave a Reply

